Jane Finds Marginalia in DOGEATERS

Seven years ago, a friend gifted me a handout from her literature course. “You should read her,” she said.

I always remembered that name, Jessica Hagedorn, her remarkably high cheekbones and cool stare, the title, Dogeaters. I have an inkling of what that might mean.

Like her, I am Filipino. Like her, I have hoop earrings, poems in lowercase letters.

I saved that sheet of paper, carried it with me through five moves. I don’t know why I didn’t seek it out then, but I found a used copy at Left Bank Books and have added to the margins.

DOGEATERS

Leave a Reply

