Jane Recommends “Toni Morrison, Nora Ephron, and Dozens More Offer Advice…” via OPEN CULTURE

An excerpt from “Toni Morrison, Nora Ephron, and Dozens More Offer Advice in Free Creative Writing ‘Master Class’” by Josh Jones:

If you’re anything like me, you yearn to become a good writer, a better writer, an inspiring writer, even, by learning from the writers you admire. But you neither have the time nor the money for an MFA program or expensive retreats and workshops with famous names. So you read W.H. Auden’s essays and Paris Review interviews with your favorite authors (or at least PR’s Twitter feed); you obsessively trawl the archives of The New York Times’ “Writers on Writing” series, and you relish every Youtube clip, no matter how lo-fi or truncated, of your literary heroes, speaking from beyond the grave, or from behind a podium at the 92nd Street Y.

*

Jane says: I do, yes, yes, and duh. Yes, my calendar is stuffed and I lack cash for expensive retreats and workshops with drool-worthy marquee and banner names, so I research while working, cooking dinner, blowdrying my hair―has Josh Jones been spying on me? While I devoured this article, I felt like I was listening someone rapidly list things that I already knew I would love, that maybe I’ve heard of them in a daydream or hoped for them enough that the literary gods have finally delivered my wishes to me, and I can’t scribble notes fast enough.

Leave a Reply

